top of page
  • M.T Peters

A Playlist for Thespians

Updated: Jul 7, 2021


In honor of the reopening of the West End and Broadway announcing its return in September, please enjoy this small collection of some of my favorite songs from musical theatre! It's not an easy task picking just a few. However, my hope is that through this list you will be introduced to some new favorites.


Photo by M.T Peters

Songs


A Million Miles Away from Aladdin


This song from the Original Broadway Cast Recording of Aladdin (sung by Adam Jacobs and Courtney Reed) makes you want to grab a carpet and fly to far-away places! If you've ever felt tied down by your life and dreamt of escaping and leaving everything behind, you'll understand exactly what Aladdin and Jasmine are going through in this song.


Her Voice from The Little Mermaid


This song from the Original Broadway Cast Recording of The Little Mermaid (sung by Sean Palmer) reminds me a bit of Erik from the Phantom of the Opera as he sings about the voice of the woman he has fallen in love with. It's such a heartfelt song that soars and dips and shows the depths of Ariel's Eric and his own feelings of longing.


If I Can't Love Her from Beauty and the Beast


This song from the Original Broadway Cast Recording of Beauty and the Beast (sung by Terrence Mann) powerfully expresses the despair that the Beast feels as he lets Belle go and faces his life without her. This song was originally planned to be included in the live-action Disney adaptation of the film but was later replaced by Evermore to better suit Dan Stevens's singing voice.


In a Crowd of Thousands from Anastasia


This song from the Original Broadway Cast Recording of Anastasia (sung by Derek Klena and Christy Altomare) instantly became one of my favorite songs upon discovery and still remains so. It takes you on such an emotional roller coaster while revealing one of the most important plot points of the story.


Lily's Eyes from The Secret Garden


This song from the Original Broadway Cast Album of The Secret Garden (sung by Robert Westenberg and Mandy Patinkin) was how I found out about a musical I was unaware existed. I loved it as soon as I heard it for the first time but then grew to love it even more when I realized that the actor who played Inigo Montoya in The Princess Bride lent his voice to one of the characters!


The Color of Your Eyes from Daddy Long Legs


This song from the Original Off-Broadway Cast Recording of Daddy Long Legs (sung by Megan McGinnis and Paul Alexander Nolan) was yet another introduction to a previously unknown-to-me musical. I was so intrigued by it that it caused me to look up the plot and discover the 1995 musical film starring Fred Astaire which I later watched and fell in love with!


Times Are Hard for Dreamers - Pop Version from Amélie


This song from the Original Broadway Cast Recording of Amélie (sung by Phillipa Soo) is a sweeping description of the move that the titular character makes to the City of Light: Paris. It makes me want to hop on a train and start a new life somewhere with every listen! I chose the pop version for this playlist because it's the version that I have memorized.


Top of the World from Tuck Everlasting


This song from the Original Broadway Cast Recording of Tuck Everlasting (sung by Andrew Keenan-Bolger and Sarah Charles Lewis) says 'spring' to me the most out of all of the songs in this list! It will make you want to climb the nearest tree or mountain or whatever you can get your hands on to feel the freedom that comes with reaching the top (unless you're like me and are afraid of heights).


Watch What Happens from Newsies: The Musical


This song from the Original Broadway Cast Recording of Newsies: The Musical (sung by Kara Lindsay) is such an inspiration. Perhaps one of the most difficult to sing from the entire album, Kara amazingly remembers every single word. I love every song from this album and have listened to it many times, but I have yet to manage to memorize this one in its entirety. However, I fully intend to keep trying!


(Total time: 29 minutes)

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page