top of page
  • M.T Peters

The Finest Hours (2016): An Underrated Disney Gem


The Finest Hours (2016) - Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures

I first learned about The Finest Hours from trailers on YouTube before its release, and, as soon as I saw them, I knew that this was a film that I wanted to watch in theatres. I went to see it with some friends and loved it so much that I asked one of my guy friends to tell my dad how good it was so that we could all go to see it together as a family. Much to my delight, my plan worked, and this film immediately became a favorite of our family. I was surprised to find that there are more negative reviews of this film than positive ones, so I am eager to share some of the many reasons that it is one of my favorites and always will be.


History and Plot


The Finest Hours is based on the true story of the Pendleton rescue. On February 18, 1952, a massive nor’easter struck New England, pummeling towns along the Eastern seaboard and wreaking havoc on the ships caught in its deadly path, including the SS Pendleton, a T-2 oil tanker bound for Boston, which was literally ripped in half, trapping more than 30 sailors inside its rapidly sinking stern. As the senior officer on board, first assistant engineer Ray Sybert (Casey Affleck, Good Will Hunting) soon realizes it is up to him to take charge of the frightened crew and inspire the men to set aside their differences and work together to ride out one of the worst storms to ever hit the East Coast. Meanwhile, as word of the disaster reaches the U.S. Coast Guard station in Chatham, Massachusetts, Warrant Officer Daniel Cluff (Eric Bana, The Other Boleyn Girl) orders a daring operation to rescue the stranded men. Despite overwhelming odds, four men, led by Coast Guard Captain Bernie Webber (Chris Pine, Into the Woods), set out in a wooden lifeboat with an ill-equipped engine and little, if any, means of navigation, facing frigid temperatures, 60-foot high waves, and hurricane-force winds.


The Finest Hours (2016) - Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures

A Few of My Favorite Things


The first thing I love about this movie is the opening, where we immediately start to hear The Hucklebuck performed by Frank Sinatra with Axel Stordahl and His Orchestra. All you have to do is play the movie long enough for me to hear this song to make me smile and come running.


The first date of Bernie and Miriam is possibly my favorite meet-cute of all time. I always find both characters so relatable. Bernie is obviously nervous about seeing Miriam for the first time and worries she won't like his appearance, despite the fact that he is played by Chris Pine himself. Just as his friend Gus (Beau Knapp, You're Not You) points out, "that ain't never been your problem."


A favorite scene of mine is the one where the men are approaching the bar and one of them starts singing Haul Away Joe, a light-hearted sea shanty. Even though they are all frightened by the task ahead of them, they join in one by one. This song is included in the ending credits, sung so beautifully by Kodaline. I had never heard of Haul Away Joe before, but hearing it in the theatre as the credits rolled is an experience that I won't be forgetting anytime soon.


The Finest Hours (2016) - Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures

Final Thoughts


I could go on and on about the things that I love about this film, but I want to encourage you to go and watch it for yourself if you have not already done so. If you enjoy films about the 1950s, rescues, movies based on true stories, or are simply a "Pine Nut" (as fans of Chris Pine are called) you will love this stressful yet heartwarming story. It may make you cry in one or two places, but you will likely be left with a warm, fuzzy feeling at the end.


The Finest Hours (2016) - Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures

 

Click below to watch the trailer for The Finest Hours:




bottom of page