top of page
  • J.E Stanway

My Favorite Moments: Downton Abbey (2010-2016)



Since I discovered Downton Abbey in its fourth series (yes, I watched it out of order), I have rewatched this series well over 10 times. It's become the pleasant white noise in the background as I do housework and the period drama that I quote most frequently. In fact, there are episodes that I can recite practically word for word. Suffice it to say, I am a major Downton fangirl.


This being the case, I want to share with you all my top 6 favorite moments from this series in order of least to most special. So, let's get to it!


6) Granny's Battle (Series 6)



The Dowager Countess (Maggie Smith, A Room With A View) hands down has the best lines in this series, her sentiments being just as memorable as her rage. Her storyline in series 6 of Downton, though somewhat reduced from the previous series, retains some of her best lines, in particular in episode 3:


Her argument towards Robert's cry for reason:


"I am sick and tired of logic. If I could choose between principle and logic, I would take principle every time!"

Her attitude towards her battle with Lady Grantham:


"Oh, I have a feeling Cora and I will be saying 'Hello' rather less than 'En garde!' in the next few weeks."

Whenever I hear these quotes recited back, I burst out laughing. Her line delivery is always iconic, but her personal war in the final series of the show tops almost all of her previous lines.


5) Gwen's Return (Series 6)



Gwen (Rose Leslie, Game of Thrones) was one of my favorite characters in series 1 of Downton, especially her friendship with Sybil and Tom. So when she came back in Series 6, Episode 4, I FREAKED OUT. I was jumping up and down in my seat, completely ecstatic! I was even happier to find her relatively unchanged, despite her rise in rank. Her personality and sweetness were just the same, and she never lost her connection to the downstairs staff.


4) Sybil's Pantaloons (Series 1)



Lady Sybil Crawley (Jessica Brown Findlay, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society) is probably the most progressive character in this series, next to Lady Rose. She never felt the need to sacrifice beauty and pleasantness in order to pursue the causes that mattered to her, and she reflected this in her sense of style.


In Series 1, Episode 4, Sybil had her dressmaker sew up a frock with pantaloons rather than a skirt (basically an early 20th-century romper). It was a bold fashion statement for that era and reflected Sybil's personality perfectly.


3) Carson's Proposal (Series 5)



Fans of Downton Abbey basically shipped Carson and Mrs. Hughes together from Episode 1 of the series, so how satisfying it was to see Carson finally pop the question to Mrs. Hughes in the Series 5 finale! It was sweet and tender, and one of the most romantic scenes in the show.


2) The Arrival of Henry Talbot (Series 5 & 6)



Unlike the majority of Downton fans, I am more Team Henry than Team Matthew. I always felt Matthew had a whiny streak to him, and, though I adore him, I felt Mary was better suited to the suave and lithe figure of Henry Talbot (Matthew Goode, Leap Year), a man who was just as strong as she was.


When he first arrived in the Series 5 finale, I was bowled over. My jaw dropped as he casually hopped into his racecar, leaving Mary just as overwhelmed as I at the smoothness and charm of his character. In my opinion, Henry should have been introduced long before Series 5 so that we could have avoided the ridiculous mess that was Tony Gillingham.


1) Tom's Transformation (Series 3-6)



Of all the characters in Downton, Tom Branson (Allen Leech, The Imitation Game) is my absolute favorite. His character development is smooth and subtle, and it isn't until you go back and rewatch the series that you realize how much he changes throughout. He becomes a man of real integrity and one of the most loving and lovable characters the series has turned out. I tend to ignore the ending he was given in the movie, as I personally feel the chemistry between him and Laura Edmunds (Edith's magazine editor) was superb. It's my personal headcanon that he ends up with her, as she is the perfect balance between high society and the working class.


 

What are your favorite moments from Downton Abbey? Let us know in the comments below!

bottom of page