top of page
  • Leanna Fleenor

What I Love About The "Fields by my House" Books


Photo by Leanna Fleenor

"If only to be a butterfly, a mere observer of the beauty that's been gifted. To immerse myself, fully, into this vast and glorious land. There in that wood, I'd be able to cultivate my love for the indescribable and glorious."
- J.E Stanway, An Annafield Girl

When I first read The Fields By My House and its sequel An Annafield Girl by J.E Stanway, it was, in so many words, a glimpse into an era long gone by. Anyone who's an Anne Of Green Gables fan will fall in love with this wonderful story. In many ways, they share the same qualities, but The Fields By My House series takes you into a whole world of its own. That's what I really love about it - it's similar to our dearest Anne but has its own original story that will make you laugh and gasp at times and contains charming characters that you will most certainly fall in love with.


The Characters


The main character is Mabel Fairchild, a young country girl at heart and in reality. I found Mabel's character to be very interesting; I immediately fell in love with her humor and witty comebacks. She definitely has a kindred spirit quality about her. Her ambition in life is to become a published author one day, and she believes with her whole heart that country life is the epitome of happiness. I just love Mabel's personality; I feel like if you were to take Anne Shirley's and Caroline Ingalls' personalities and put them together, you'd get Mabel Fairchild! She has both a fiery and gentle side to her, and I just love that about her character.


There are several other wonderful characters such as Emmett Richardson, Rebecca Miller, Leanna Erickson, and Mabel's best friend Peter Golightly. I enjoyed reading about Peter. His personality is very agreeable - I love a witty yet serious character, and Peter definitely fits that description.


There are a few other characters that are equally as wonderful, but you must read the books to find out who they are. Overall, I feel like each character has a perfect place in the books. I really love that they all are an important piece to the story; without them, it wouldn't be the same.


The Plot


The story takes place in Eastern Canada, 1903. Mabel Fairchild is living in the beautiful province of Ontario in the small village of Annafield with her brother Michael and her father and mother, David and Evelyn Fairchild. Mabel is longing for the day when she will become a published author. Coming from a small village and being a young woman, trying to publish a book isn't easy, but that won't stop Mabel from going after her dreams.


Annafield, though it is boring and uneventful to some, is Mabel's home, and she couldn't dream of living anywhere else. Mabel's life seems to be going in the right direction, but it takes a turn as she enters her final year of schooling and her relationship with her best friend Peter Golightly becomes more complicated. Mabel is faced with many wonderful decisions and, at the same time, ones that will change her life forever.


Mabel, for the first time, has to take the first steps towards her independence, at the same time altering the Fairchild house in a humorous and beautiful way throughout the course of the novel. There's a mixture of lighthearted banter and wholesome romance, beautiful friendships between characters, and a warm and caring community.


Highlights


I remember when I first started reading chapter one and, not to give anything away, but there’s a part where Mabel dumps plum preserves on another character's head! I realized at that moment that I was going to enjoy this book very much. That part was easily my favorite from chapter one.


I also have to say that every scene that has Mabel’s brother Michael in it just cracks me up! He’s so hilarious and just gets me laughing.


There are so many more wonderful scenes between the characters, but I’m afraid I would spoil it for you if I said any more.


Conclusion


The Fields By My House and An Annafield Girl have become two of my favorite novels. I know that they will be a series I look forward to rereading again and again. I highly recommend any fans of Anne Of Green Gables to give it a read, and not just Anne fans, but all readers who long for a story about a bygone era.


The Fields By My House will tug at your heartstrings, and An Annafield Girl will definitely make you tear up - I know it made me teary. You will not be sorry you picked these books up. In fact, it may even bless your heart (I say that because I'm a hopeless romantic).


"Indeed, one can always look for companions among the wildflowers.”
- J.E Stanway, The Fields By My House

Photo by Leanna Fleenor

 

To get yourself a copy of The Fields By My House, click here.


Click here to purchase An Annafield Girl.

bottom of page