top of page
  • Kathryn Houghton

Paperbacks vs Hardcovers: What’s More Aesthetic?


Photo by Kathryn Houghton

What’s more pleasing to the eye, hardcovers or paperbacks? An almost impossible question. There are many things to take into consideration, like durability and functionality. What’s easier to take with you on the go? What’s more eye-catching on one’s bookshelf?

To determine the answer, let’s look at both types of books and the many forms they come in. We shall hope that a conclusion can be made instead of continuing to sit inside a bookstore with two copies of the same book wondering which would be the better choice. We know you’ve been there because we’ve done the same thing.

Paperbacks

Photo by Kathryn Houghton

I must admit, few things please me more than seeing a Penguin Classic left on a table or on someone’s shelf. It’s easy to spot and usually has fantastic introductions and notes in the beginning. This is the case for Oxford World Classics too. Aside from those two publishers that always seem to catch my eye, there are countless other publishers who know how to make a paperback stand out.

Is there a superiority from one paperback to another? In my opinion, there is. As gorgeous as Penguin Classics can be, they scuff easier than a brand new pair of white sneakers. You place it in a bag or have a nail catch on it, and suddenly your beautiful black book has a white mark.


Photo by Kathryn Houghton

There are, however, many publishers out there that seem to be higher quality when it comes to the cover and spines holding up. Some readers out there love being able to break the spine of their paperback as a mark that it’s theirs and they’ve loved it the best way they could, but not all of us want them to break after reaching the middle point of our novel.

From my experience, the Oxford editions are better than Penguin. Also, Barnes & Noble uses fairly durable materials when you self-publish through their website. I‘ve also found that it’s best to stay away from glossy-looking covers and better to search for those that look canvas-like, or almost soft to the touch. A lot of this is to be taken with a grain of salt, of course, as this is all up to personal preference.

Hardcovers

Photo by Kathryn Houghton

I think Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell is the hardcover book that has stayed with me and survived the most moves with my family. But let me just say, I am not particularly a fan of dust covers. I love the durability of hardcovers, but aesthetics have always been a deciding factor in what I put on my shelves. And I understand they are meant to protect the book, but I just cannot get behind them.

I'd much rather have a cloth-bound or leather-bound with gorgeous engravings or stamped lettering. I love that hardcovers can have a lot of depth. Suddenly golden pages enter the picture, ribboned bookmarks are sewn into the spine, and there's just overall more room for creative energy. There’s no reason to wonder why hardcovers are for many considered a luxury.


Photo by Kathryn Houghton

You’re also more likely to find unique books when searching for hardcovers. You’ll probably find novels no one else knows about or will have when antique shopping and finding rows and rows of sturdy books, that are in surprisingly good shape. Hardcovers are much more likely to endure time and age than paperbacks.

Aside from the antiques, I absolutely adore the penguin cloth-bound editions as well as the leather bounds Barnes and Noble creates. And Canterbury Classics makes surprisingly affordable hardcovers for classic lovers who want a cover that pops in color. I could name many more publishers that cater to those who prefer hardcovers.

So, Which is More Aesthetic?

Photo by Kathryn Houghton

So now you’re wondering- which is better? Well to tell you the truth, to choose one over the other is nearly an impossible thing to do. Instead, decide what matters most to you in books. Is it quality? The answer, in that case, would hands down be hardcovers! But what if you’re a minimalist, who doesn’t mind breaking in their books? Or someone who cares about the convenience of taking their books everywhere? Well, then I would conclude paperbacks are the way to go, especially if you don’t want to break the bank.

As an eclectic at heart, I of course would say why not both? Why not own a few simple copies of Oxfords, and then leather bounds on the next shelf over? I’m someone who loves to see variety when it comes to being a bibliophile.

I’ll say lastly that there are so many aesthetics to consider too. There are all of the academia subgenres, Cottagecore, minimalism, chic, naturalism- I could go on and on. Each of those may give you a different reply. So although I may not be able to give you a strict answer, I hope these considerations and questions help you in the process of curating your own collection of literature!

 

What's your opinion on paperbacks vs hardcovers? Let us know in the comments below!

35 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page