top of page
  • Addison Horsell

Cottage Style Art Projects for Summer



As the days grow longer and the sun shines bright, many of us are longing to exercise our creativity! With that in mind, I have put together a short list of projects that are perfect for the current season and very easy to do! I hope you have a chance to sit down and make something beautiful.


Mushroom Garden Ornaments



Mushrooms are a must-have for many nature-related aesthetics. They also make lovely additions to a cheerful garden. If you are a lover of fungi, you’ll enjoy this simple project! All you need is natural air-dry clay, a little water, wooden skewers, and a waterproof sealer.


Get a small clump of wet clay and mold it into a sphere. It should be about the size of a golf ball. Then pinch the middle with your thumb and forefinger to divide it into two pieces. Mold one piece into a cylinder and the other into the bowl-shaped cap. Poke a few holes onto both pieces where you will join them, and dab plenty of water on both spots. Now attach them firmly and you have a mushroom! Once it dries a little bit, poke a skewer in the bottom to form a hole you can use later to stick it in the ground. It should take a few days to dry completely, and then you can coat it in the sealer and put it in your garden.


Art Journal Spread


This one is very open-ended and full of potential. An art journal is a great way to experiment with ideas and help your creativity flow. My favorite way to begin a spread is to think of a concept or theme - it could be as abstract or specific as you want - and then collect fun and interesting materials to cover the page with. I especially like wrapping paper, watercolors, pens, pastels, metallic supplies of any kind, dried plants, and pretty stickers and paper scraps. If you stick to a color palette, the spread will be beautiful and cohesive. Since it is spring, consider taking inspiration from the flowers, birds, and trees as you create.


For a more in-depth tutorial on filling an art journal spread, click here.


Botanical Bookmarks



Who doesn’t love to read outside with the birds singing overhead? I know I do, which is why I thought this would be a perfect art project to include. There are many ways to make a bookmark, but I will briefly explain how I made the ones you see in the photo.


I used pieces of canvas that were about 6 inches long, a glue stick, newsprint tissue paper, watercolor pastels, a white chalk marker, a black pen, and acrylic paint.


I first took the paper and tore it into small strips. I glued 2-3 of these strips to each bookmark. Then, I painted or drew a simple flower using pastels or acrylic paint. On one of them, I glued a few daisy petals right above the stem and outlined them in pen. Once the plants were all painted on, I added small details with the white chalk marker. Feel free to try things out as you go and explore the possibilities!


I then cut a tiny slit near the tops of the bookmarks and inserted a piece of twine. I tied the tops of the twine, and the bookmarks were complete. If you want them to be nice and flat, you can lay a heavy book over them for a few days.


I hope you enjoyed this list of simple projects to try this season. They are so relaxing and fun! I am confident you will be happy with the results or at least have a good time in the process. Happy creating!

bottom of page