top of page
  • Kathryn Houghton

6 Must Have Apps for Content Creators

Updated: May 8, 2021


Photo by Kathryn Houghton

Whether you create content for fashion, food, books, or just a lifestyle, the editing process behind your photos can make or break you. Maybe you envy another bloggers streamline look, or want to go beyond VSCO presets. As photographers and content creators, we always have room for improvement, so here are 6 apps that I have found helpful during the editing process.


1. Snapseed

Snapseed is by far my lifesaver when I need a quick upgrade to any photo. This app has in my opinion, the best features for adding that grainy cozy feel to a picture. It has its own style of presets of course, and I always gravitate towards the warmer-toned ones.


Photo by Kathryn Houghton

This cozy feel is just one of the presets available on Snapseed.


2. PicsArt

PicsArt is probably one of the very first apps I ever downloaded when it comes to editing a picture. I’ve had it since I was 14 years old and it seems to get better with every other update. What’s nice about this app is that there’s so much to play around with. I would consider it my holy grail to editing.

Not only is the retouching features incredibly easy to use, but this app is also great for a wider range of effects. You can mask images and stickers, simulate illustrations, and do some light photoshop work. If you download any app from this list, I strongly recommend this one.

Photo by Kathryn Houghton

I was able to turn my floor-length antique mirror into a classical painting in just a few minutes using PicsArt.


3. RNI Films

RNI Films is one of the newer additions to my editing process. This application is wonderful for that whimsical feel to a photo. If you love that vintage flair to be added to a piece, take a look at their options! There are a lot of Polaroid-styled filters as well as vintage filters in general. You can also play around with dust and grain here too, but in bigger proportions compared to Snapseed.


4. Nichi


Nichi is a great app for beginners when creating Instagram story templates. This one is fairly self-explanatory- they have a number of templates to start with but you can also create your own from start to finish. 5. Adobe Photoshop Lightroom

Lightroom does exactly what its name suggests- fixes your lighting! This app is especially beneficial during those winter months where it seems to be dark 24/7. Lightroom can make all the difference to the atmosphere of your photos!


6. Adobe Photoshop Fix

We’ve all that had one photo of ourselves we feel have great potential if only our jawline was more defined or that blemish wasn’t there. Well, photoshop fix can be your go-to tool when fixing up minor insecurities!


Photo by Kathryn Houghton, Candle from Plot Twist Wicks

Of course, there are many apps that have contributed to my content, but these are by far the most user-friendly. I would love to get some recommendations from all of you as to what your favorite editing apps are! May you never stop experimenting and having fun with your journey in content creating or simply just taking photos!

 


Related Posts

See All
bottom of page